IMEA Recognition Awards

Click below to access the forms:


Annually, the Indiana Music Education Association recognizes individuals whose work has made a positive impact in music education in Indiana.  Honorees are recognized at the IMEA Professional Development Conference.

Nomination forms open on August 1st, 2022

Nomination deadline for 2022 awards is September 21, 2022

ONLY those nominations using this form will be consideredMultiple nominations for the same person are allowed in any given year. While candidates may be submitted in multiple years, please refrain from nominating a candidate for any award they have received in the past.

Award categories include:

Outstanding Indiana Music Educator

The Outstanding Indiana Music Educator Award recognizes educators in each of the four following areas: Elementary; Middle School / Junior High; High School; and College / University. These awards will be presented to IMEA members who have exemplified outstanding achievement in the field of music education. Factors that will be considered when selecting the award winners will include a record of excellence over multiple years of teaching and contributions to students as well as the music education profession.

Outstanding Administrator

The Outstanding Administrator Award gives recognition to an individual who has contributed and supported the advancement of music education in his/her local school corporation(s) through his/her leadership.  Membership in IMEA is not required for this award.

Outstanding Hoosier Musician

The Outstanding Hoosier Musician Award is designed to give recognition to an individual who has contributed to the advancement of music education in the state of Indiana, and who has contributed outstanding service to local, state, and national music organizations.  Membership in IMEA is not required for this award.

Past IMEA Award Winners


Molly Lueken - Outstanding Elementary Educator

Amanda M. Cornet - Outstanding Middle School/Jr. High Educator

James R. Byrn, Jr. - Outstanding High School Educator (tie)

Joshua R. Huff - Outstanding High School Educator (tie)

Becky Marsh - Outstanding Collegiate Educator

Robert Huesing - Outstanding Administrator

Richard Sowers - Outstanding Hoosier Musician



Andrew Himelick - Outstanding Elementary Educator

Phil Thomas - Outstanding Middle School/Jr. High Educator

Pete Sampson - Outstanding High School Educator (tie)

Tim Cox - Outstanding High School Educator (tie)

Matt Pivec - Outstanding Collegiate Educator

Dr. Craig McCaffrey - Outstanding Administrator

Dr. Joseph Scagnoli - Outstanding Hoosier Musician

For a PDF listing previous winners, click below: